Interview With Artist Barry Dwyer aka ‘Mozus’

Our Fall intern Taylor had the chance to interview Barry Dwyer about his work, his style, and his life at the opening reception of his show ‘The Science of Walking Through Windows.’

Taylor: “Can you talk a little bit about Mozus and what that persona means to you.”

Barry: “Mozus started out as a joke, actually. And it’s not the same dude as Moses from the bible. It started with my buddy Abraham-actually-he’s been trying to get me to take on the name for a while, now. Mozus is a transformation. Some things have been changing in my personal life recently, and this is my way of documenting it. It’s a way of leaving Barry behind. ‘Mozus’ dude is protecting, guiding, because Barry had enough of that shit. To lose your egoic spirit is the best thing you can do.”

Barry walks over to his piece ‘And In That Moment I Swear We Were Infinite

img_6569

B: “This piece is a kiss”

T: “A kiss? Just one?”

B: “Well. Probably a couple that blew my mind.”

(Everyone at the gallery began talking about the best kiss they’ve ever had, and it was beautiful. Most answers were ‘From someone I used to know.”)

T: “Why the cool colors? Do kisses come in cool colors?”

B: “Sure. The painting told me that’s how it had to be.”

T: “What do you mean?”

B: “I’ll do stuff, but it’s really the paintings themselves that dictate what they want. I’m just helping them along.”

Barry walks over to his piece ‘Souls Embrace

IMG_6568.jpg

B: “This one is a hug. Can you see the people hugging?”

T: “Your paintings are so intricate. They must take you a long time.”

B: “I see paintings hanging places.. and I get bored when I walk up three feet and look closely and all the magic that was there from far away has vanished now that I’m looking closely. I want my viewers to discover something new in these pieces, every place they look in the painting. I wanted to paint pieces that were interesting throughout, even right up in front of them.”

Barry walks over to his piece ‘Skipping Stones

Barry Dwyer.jpg

B: “This piece was a grieving process, and three amazing days at the beach where I taught a friend to skip stones. I actually started it before the change in my life, before Mozus, and finished it after. The colors in this one are inspired by the sunset. Originally, it was turned the other way.”

*Kim, Elephant Room Gallery’s Owner, laughs*

B: “For real! But I wasn’t happy with how the lines were coming across, horizontally. I couldn’t get past the ‘sunset’ of it. I wanted it to be more than that. And then a buddy of mine turned it vertically, on it’s side. I was like ‘Oh. Yeah’. …This piece, though, is just a bunch of circles. That’s what people are made of, what it all comes down to, is a bunch of circles. Even in microbiology, everything levels down to a sphere.”

 

IMG_6567.jpg

T: “This is my favorite piece of yours. It’s incredible.”

B: “I was always taught to not think outside the box, so I painted on them instead.”

T: “How did you get started painting?”

B: “Mom was a painter. I grew up around it. She was a hyperrealist artist. Then I went to the Art Institute in the 80’s…”

T: “I’m jealous. That would be rad.”

B: “Yeah, at some points it was. I was really too angsty for them. They kept trying to tell me there were all these rules. But the thing is, there are no rules. That’s what my mom would always remind me of. There are no rules. Not in art.”

 

Barry Dwyer’s show ‘The Science of Walking Through Windows’ opened at Elephant Room Gallery on December 10th, and will run through the end of December. For open hours, details on the show, or to contact Kim, visit Elephant Room’s website.

Leave a Reply

